My puppyluv

My mini schnauzer Rocky was hit by a car yesterday and admitted to the emergency unit at the nearby vet. He’s alive and ok, but lost some teeth in the front and could possibly undergo jaw surgery today. Apparently his gums are almost completely unattached to his mouth.

Al and I went to visit him at the vet in the afternoon (the accident happened at 9am and Al called me at noon to tell me this!) and Rocky was in good spirits, although he whined a bit as soon as he saw us. Thank goodness for the painkillers that are helping him through the pain. He isn’t in shock anymore and the doctors said that he was trying to walk as soon as the initial drugs were wearing off a bit.

I am so sad, even though he’s alright… I just don’t think that little 10 pound guy deserved it. The snow has melted and his curiosity got the best of him. We are going to NOT be as lenient when it comes to letting Rocky and Maggie out anymore. Living in the country is so great for them because they have so much room to run around, but we need to keep our eyes on them more and not let them run past the cedar boundaries around our land.

Let’s pray the surgery isn’t too stressful for Rocky today and I know he’ll be missing teeth in the front but I’ll still have my puppyluv…

rock

rocky3

Rocky on the right, Maggie on the left

Rocky on the right, Maggie on the left

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Life, Pets, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

